The winery is located in the municipality Pauillac
in the eponymous area in the Médoc
(Haut-Médoc, Bordeaux). The land was acquired between 1686 and 1689 by Pierre de Mazure de Rauzan (he was also the owner of the later divided Château Rauzan
in Margaux). That was the time in the Médoc, when there were still few vineyards here and it was only begun to drain the vast swamps and to cultivate viticulture. His daughter married Baron Jacques de Pichon-Longueville in 1694, who was the first President of the Parliament of Bordeaux. From there on the estate was called "Château Pichon-Longueville". After the death of his descendant Baron Joseph de Pichon-Longueville in 1850, his three daughters inherited three-fifths and his two sons two-fifths of the estate. Later, the surviving son Raoul took over these two-fifths, from which then the opposite Château Pichon-Longueville Baron
The larger part inherited a female descendant, a Comtesse de Lalande. This resulted in the unusually long label name "Château Pichon-Longueville Comtesse-de-Lalande". However, this is often abbreviated today as "Château Pichon-Comtesse" or "Château Pichon-Lalande". After a rich history, the Comtesse estate was bought by the Miailhe family in 1925, and for a long time belonged to a descendant, Madame May Eliane de Lencquesaing (a former concert pianist). In 2006 then acquired the champagne house Roederer
the majority shares. In the Bordeaux Classification
in 1855 the estate received the second rank (Deuxième Cru Classé). The vineyards cover 85 hectares and are planted with Cabernet Sauvignon (45%), Merlot (35%), Cabernet Franc (12%) and Petit Verdot (8%). The decades-storable red wine is aged for 18 to 24 months in 50% new oak barrels. He is counted among the "Super-Seconds", so would earn the "Premier Cru Classé". The second wine is called "Réserve da la Comtesse".