Andalucía 19 growing regions

Description to Andalucía

The second largest of the 17 autonomous regions in the south Spain (Spanish Andalucía), which includes eight provinces. In the east, the region of Murcia closes, in the north, the regions Extremadura and La Mancha on. It is the oldest wine region of Spain, since as early as 1.100 BC. Founded the Phoenicians the port city of Gadir (today's Cádiz) and exported wine. Even during the 700 years of the rule of the Moors until the end of the 15th century, wine continued to be limited here, but above all raisins produced. The Moors transformed the area into a large garden and it was called "paradise on earth". Already much earlier than the rest of Andalusia Jerez was already taken in 1264 the Moors and alcoholic wines in the manner of sherry produced. From the 16th century, there was an economic relapse in viticulture, only from the advent of tourism in the early 1950s, there was a great boom. Andalusia is the hottest part of Spain with Mediterranean dominated climate. The westerly winds from the Atlantic provide for cooling and the often calcareous soil stores the water even during the dry periods. In the region are the areas Condado de Huelva. Jerez. Malaga. Montilla-Moriles and Sierras de Málaga classified as DO.
In the wine guide you will find
currently 138 302 Wines and 22 867 Producers, including 1 630 classified producers.
Rating system About Their sources in Wine Guide Wine Samples

Calendar EVENTS NEAR YOU To Online-Events

Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.