Castilla y León 18 growing regions

Description to Castilla y León

One of the 17 autonomous regions of Spain or historical landscape (also Old Castile, Spanish Castilla y León) with about 66,000 km ² in the north of the Iberian Peninsula, which is also known as the "Land of Castles". Once upon a time, this was the border region between the Christian and Moorish worlds, so many border fortresses were built here. It is considered the heartland of today's Spain. In 1492, the Moors were expelled and now Valladolid instead of Burgos raised to the capital. This remained until 1561, then King Philip II (1527-1598) chose Madrid as the new capital in New Castile. In the extremely eventful 16th century, the winegrowing boomed due to the needs of the royal court and the conquered provinces in the New world, Today, mainly red wine is produced, predominant grape varieties are the red Mencia. Garnacha Tinta and Tinto del País ( Tempranillo ) as well as the white ones Verdejo, Viura ( Macabeo ) and Palomino, As DO Classified in the region are the areas Arribes del Duero. Bierzo. Cigales. Ribera del Arlanza. Ribera del Duero. Rueda. Tierra de Leon. Tierra del Vino de Zamora. Toro and Valles de Benavente,

Castile-Leon - numerous castles, palaces and fortresses

In the wine guide you will find
currently 137 979 Wines and 22 859 Producers, including 1 482 classified producers.
Rating system About Their sources in Wine Guide Wine Samples

Calendar EVENTS NEAR YOU To Online-Events

Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.