Cinque Terre DOC

Cinque Terre DOC

Description to Cinque Terre DOC

DOC area (also Cinque Terre Sciacchetrà) for white wine in the Italian region Liguria, It is named after the approximately 12 kilometers long, climate-favored coastal strip of the Italian Riviera between Punta Mesco and Punta di Montenero on the Gulf of Genoa and means "five countries" or "five towns". These are the municipalities along the steeply sloping coast Monterosso al Mare, Riomaggiore (with the three subzones Costa de Sera, Costa de Campu and Costa da Posa), Vernazza and the Tramonti Piassa and Tramonti di Campiglia in the area of the capital La Spezia the province of La Spezia. The region is protected as a national park and was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1997 World Heritage explained.

In the 1960s there were still vines of around 1,600 hectares. Due to the extremely complex management, which was only possible with laborious manual work, around 90% of these were abandoned. Today the vineyards cover only around 100 hectares. They are in steep, supported by dry stone walls terraces created. The vineyards are among the steepest vineyards Europe. The vines are partly traditional Pergola system behaved. The Bianco is made from the varieties Bosco (40%), Albarola and or Vermentino (max. 40%), as well as other approved varieties such as roller blind (max. 20%) pressed. The same varieties become the Strohwein Cinqueterre Sciacchetrà (also called Riserva ) made from raisin grapes. The grapes for this specialty must come from the subzones Costa da Posa, Costa de Campu and Costa de Sera in the municipality of Riomaggiore and may be named on label wear.

In the wine guide you will find
currently 137 979 Wines and 22 859 Producers, including 1 482 classified producers.
Rating system About Their sources in Wine Guide Wine Samples

Calendar EVENTS NEAR YOU To Online-Events

Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.