D.O. Navarra

D.O. Navarra

Description to D.O. Navarra

In 905 King Sancho I founded his own kingdom Navarra (Basque Nafarroa) with the capital Pamplona. In its heyday under Sancho III. (990-1035) it reached both sides of the Pyrenees from Barcelona to Bordeaux. The first inhabitants were the Basques whose influences can still be felt today. The Count of Champagne Thibaut I inherited the kingdom in 1234, after which it was administered by several French rulers. In 1512, the greater part of Upper Navarra south of the Pyrenees was annexed by Ferdinand II of Aragon and thus Spanish. The son of the Queen of Navarre Johanna ascended as king Henry IV (1553-1610) in 1589 the French throne and divided the northern part of 1607 in the kingdom France on. The area has a very old winemaking tradition. Near the village Funes one found one antiquity Roman cellar with about 75,000 liters capacity.

In the 11th century, the famous pilgrimage route "Camino de Santiago" (after Santiago de Compostela in Galicia ) through Pamplona. The pilgrims enjoyed wines along the road from the west adjoining Rioja and Navarre, and it also developed into a lively export of Spanish wines to Normandy. As early as the 15th century, Navarre was famous for its Rosé wines. After the discovery of America in 1492, the area experienced a major wine boom. The ships in the New world were loaded with wine from Navarre. The end of the 19th century were by the phylloxera the then 50,000 hectares almost 100% destroyed and were completely repopulated. In 1911 Navarre was one of the first Spanish Winzergenossenschaften founded. The research institute has made a major contribution to the upswing in viticulture Evena,

Today, the Navarre region with its special, autonomous rights in northeastern Spain, with its 17,300 hectares, also has its own huge DO area. There is also a DO scheme for the known sloe liqueur pacharán, Geographically, the large area is divided into the five subregions Tierra Estelba and Valdizarbe in the north, Baja Montaña and Ribera Alta north of the Ebro in the center and the largest with 30% share Ribera Baja in the south. There are the four as Vino de Pago defined areas Finca Bolandín. Pago de Arínzano. Pago de Otazu and Prado de Irache, A small part of the region to the west is part of the DO area Rioja,

To 60% red wines and 30% rosé wines are produced. The main varieties are Garnacha Tinta (40% of total area), Tempranillo. Cabernet Sauvignon. Graciano, Mazuela ( mazuelo ) Pinot Noir and Merlot, For the white wines, the varieties Viura ( Macabeo ) Garnacha Blanca, Malvasia ( Planta Nova ) Chardonnay and Moscatel Menudo ( Muscat Blanc ) used. There are over 6,000 winegrowers, but only about 100 bodegas (bottlers). Well-known producers include Artazu, Asensio, Cirbonera, Guelbenzu, Inurrieta, Julián Chivite, Ochoa, Palacio de la Vega, Principe de Viana, Telmo Rodríguez. Vicente Malumbres, Viña Aliaga and Virgen Blanca.

In the wine guide you will find
currently 133 279 Wines and 23 037 Producers, including 1 401 classified producers.
Rating system About Their sources in Wine Guide Wine Samples


Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.