19 growing regions

Description to France

Département in the southeast France with the capital Privas in the political region Rhone-Alpes, which is named after the river of the same name. It is located in the middle of the départements Lozére (west), Haute Loire (northwest), Loire (north), Drôme (East), Vaucluse (Southeast) and Gard (Southwest). The Châtaigne d'Ardèche AOC area is for chestnuts. A special feature is the wine "Cuvée des vignes d'antan" from hybrid varieties (see below Jacquez ). From the early 1980s made here the well-known wine merchants and wine producers Louis Latour Pioneering work. It is Mediterranean climate with mild winters and hot dry summers. The vineyards cover 7,500 hectares of vineyards mainly on limestone and sandstone floors. The winegrowing areas belong to the winegrowing region Rhone, The AOC areas are:

The country wine or the entire département comprehensive IGP area is called Ardèche. This can be supplemented by the narrower, geographical name Coteaux de l'Ardèche (formerly this was an independent Vin de pays area). Another standalone IGP area is Collines Rhônaniennes, Ardèche is also part of the two major regional IGP areas Comtés of Rhodania and Méditerranée,

45% of red wines, 35% of rosé wines and 20% of white wines are mostly produced by cooperatives. The most important red wines are Cabernet Franc. Cabernet Sauvignon. Caladoc, Carignan Noir ( mazuelo ) Chatus. Cinsault. Gamaret. Gamay, Grenache Noir ( Garnacha Tinta ) Marselan. Merlot. Pinot Noir and Syrah, The most important white wines are Chardonnay. Clairette, Grenache Blanc ( Garnacha Blanca ) Marsanne. Muscat Blanc. Roussanne. Sauvignon Blanc. Bourboulenc, Ugni Blanc ( Trebbiano Toscano ) and Viognier,

In the wine guide you will find
currently 125 397 Wines and 22 936 Producers, including 1 260 classified producers.
Rating system About Their sources in Wine Guide Wine Samples

Privacy Notice:

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.