German-speaking regions of Switzerland 17 growing regions

Description to German-speaking regions of Switzerland

Designation (also Eastern Switzerland) for the regions and areas of the Switzerland with predominantly German-speaking population. These are the Mittelland, northwestern Switzerland, eastern Switzerland and central Switzerland, as well as large parts of the Swiss Alps, which together make up about two thirds of the country's surface. In terms of wine law, it is one of the six Swiss wine regions with 17 German-speaking cantons. The wine-growing cantons are (with only a few hectares) vineyards Aargau. Basel country. Bern (Lake Thun), Glarus, Grisons. Lucerne. Nidwalden. Schaffhausen. Schwyz, Solothurn, St. Gallen. Thurgau and Zurich, Their vineyards cover a total of almost 2,600 hectares of vineyards with 0.2 hectares in the canton of Nidwalden to 644 hectares in the canton of Zurich. Nearly 80% of red wines are dominating Pinot Noir (here (Pinot Noir, Clevner), as well as the new breeds Gamaret and Garanoir, The most important white grape variety is Müller-Thurgau (Riesling x Sylvaner), others are Räuschling. Gewurztraminer and Pinot Gris ( Pinot gris ).

In the wine guide you will find
currently 133 244 Wines and 23 038 Producers, including 1 402 classified producers.
Rating system About Their sources in Wine Guide Wine Samples


Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.