22 growing regions

Description to Italy

Double Region in Italy with a total of 15,500 hectares of vineyards. Since 1972, it has been divided into the two autonomous provinces of Trento and Bolzano. Wine-growing technology, they are considered as own regions. The predominantly Italian-speaking province of Trento with the capital of the same name (also capital of the entire region) is the southern part and corresponds to the area Trentino with about 10,000 hectares of vineyards. The predominantly German-speaking province Bolzano (Bolzano) with the capital of the same name is the northern part and corresponds to the area South-Tirol (Ital. Alto Adige = High Adige) with about 5.500 hectares of vineyards.

They have a completely different story. The northern part was more than 600 years old Austria and was awarded to Italy after the First World War (1914-1918) in 1919. The boundary between the two parts forms the Salurner Klause, this is the narrow valley of the Adige at Salurno (Salerno) south of Bolzano. Today, the areas of both the grape varieties and the wines have many similarities. The region has the highest Italian DOC standard, with around 80% of its production being DOC. In both parts, the vines are traditionally still very common pergolas (Wooden scaffolding) pulled.
In the wine guide you will find
currently 125 397 Wines and 22 936 Producers, including 1 260 classified producers.
Rating system About Their sources in Wine Guide Wine Samples

Privacy Notice:

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.