Menfi DOC

Menfi DOC

Description to Menfi DOC

DOC area for red wines and white wines in the Italian region or on the island Sicily, The zone includes the municipalities of Menfi, Sambuca di Sicilia and Sciacca in the province of Agrigento, as well as the municipality of Castelvetrano in the province of Trapani. There are two sub-zones named after subdivisions in the municipality of Menfi called Feudo the Fiori and Bonera.

The varietal wines must be pressed from at least 85% of each variety. The three white wines are Ansonica ( Inzolia ) Chardonnay and Grecanico ( Garganega ). The five reds are Cabernet Sauvignon. Merlot. Nero d'Avola. Sangiovese and Syrah,

The Bianco comes in any mix of Ansonica, Catarratto Bianco Lucido, Chardonnay and Grecanico (to 75%), as well as other approved varieties (max 25%) blended. The vendemmia tardiva ( late vintage ) is used in any use by Ansonica, Catarratto Bianco Lucido, Sauvignon ( Sauvignon Blanc ) and Chardonnay. The Rosso (also as Riserva ) is produced in any mixture of Nero d'Avola, Sangiovese, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon and Syrah (for 70%), as well as other approved varieties (maximum 30%).

The white wine from the Feudo dei Fiori sub-zone is made from Ansonica and / or Chardonnay (80%) and other authorized varieties (up to 20%). The red wine from the subzone Bonera (also known as Riserva) is produced in any use of Nero d'Avola, Sangiovese, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Syrah (to 85%), as well as other authorized varieties (max 15%).
In the wine guide you will find
currently 132 965 Wines and 23 084 Producers, including 1 405 classified producers.
Rating system About Their sources in Wine Guide Wine Samples


Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.