Orleanais AOVDQS

Orleanais AOVDQS

Description to Orleanais AOVDQS

The name is derived from the historical province of France, named after the capital Orléans. In the Middle Ages this was an important winegrowing area. It was part of the French royal domain, so the French royal family and the city of Paris supplied themselves with wine from there. The short distance (130 km) and a continuous cobbled street favored the transport of wine to the capital. According to legend, King estimated Henry IV (1553-1610) the Orléanais wines in excess. Under Louis XIII. (1601-1643), however, the wine from Orléans was gradually abandoned. After the French Revolution, the province was dissolved and divided into the departments Loiret, Loir-et-Cher, and partly Eure-et-Loir and Yonne. The former VDQS division Orléanais (also Vins de l'Orléanais) was divided into two areas in 2002, which were then classified as AOC in 2006. These are Orleans and Orléans-Clery,
In the wine guide you will find
currently 134 261 Wines and 22 950 Producers, including 1 452 classified producers.
Rating system About Their sources in Wine Guide Wine Samples


Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.