Portes de Méditerranée

Portes de Méditerranée

Description to Portes de Méditerranée

One of the six major regional IGP areas for the production of land wines in France, The other five are Atlantique. Comtés of Rhodania. Comté Tolosan. Pays d'Oc and Val de Loire, It was created in 1999 under the name Vin de pays Portes de Méditerranée and renamed in 2009. The area includes the eight départements Alpes de Haute-Provence, Alpes Maritimes, Ardèche. Bouches-du-Rhône. Drôme, Hautes-Alpes, var and Vaucluse in the southeast of the French mainland as well as the two later added two départements Corse-du-Sud and Haute-Corse on the island of Corsica.


The name Méditerranée can be added to the narrower geographical names Comté de Grignan and Coteaux de Montélimar. The wine-growing areas are at least partially part of the winegrowing regions Provence. Rhone and Corsica, The main varieties for the majority of red wines produced as well as for rosé wines are Grenache Noir ( Garnacha Tinta ) Cabernet Sauvignon. Merlot. Syrah. Cinsault, Carignan Noir ( mazuelo ) Caladoc and Marselan, The most important white wines are Viognier. Muscat Blanc and Chardonnay,

By Chazall - Travail Personal, Domaine public, Link

In the wine guide you will find
currently 132 770 Wines and 23 074 Producers, including 1 394 classified producers.
Rating system About Their sources in Wine Guide Wine Samples


Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.