Valpolicella DOC

Valpolicella DOC

Description to Valpolicella DOC

DOC area for red wines in the west of the Italian region Veneto, The zone includes the municipalities of Cazzano di Tramigna, Cerro Veronese, Colognola ai Colli, Dolcè, Fumane, Grezzana, Illasi, Lavagno, Marano di Valpolicella, Mezzane di Sotto, Montecchia di Crosara, Negrar, Pescantina, San Martino Buon Albergo, San Mauro di Saline, San Pietro in Cariano, Sant'Ambrogio di Valpolicella, Tregnago and Verona in the province of Verona. The five municipalities of Fumane, Marano di Valpolicella, Negrar, San Pietro in Cariano and Sant'Ambrogio di Valpolicella largely form the Valpolicella Classico area terraced Documents. The Valpolicella Valpantena subzone comprises a smaller area in the Valpantena valley in a niche on Lake Garda, which is characterized by a special area climate distinguished. If the grapes come from classified vineyards, the Superiore wines can Vigna followed by the location name.

The Valpolicella is made from the local varieties Corvina and Cruina Corvina Veronese (45-95%), Corvinone (max. 50%), Rondinella (5-30%), as well as other approved varieties (max. 25%) blended. The grape mix is similar to that from the region Bardolino, Compared to the other Valpolicella variants, they are mostly wines for quick enjoyment. There are six variants: Valpolicella, Valpolicella Classico, Valpolicella Valpantena, Valpolicella Superiore, Valpolicella Classico Superiore and Valpolicella Valpantena Superiore.

A special type of wine is Valpolicella Ripasso , which received the DOC classification in 2010. The young fermented Valpolicella red wine rape added from the Amarone processing and thereby a second fermentation initiated. This gives the wine the typical bitter taste of one Amarone, This procedure is called Ripasso designated. This makes the wine fuller in body and taste than the normal Valpolicella. The production quantities are now higher than the conventional type. There are the variants Valpolicella Ripasso, Valpolicella Ripasso Valpantena, Valpolicella Ripasso Classico, Valpolicella Ripasso Superiore, Valpolicella Ripasso Valpantena Superiore and Valpolicella Ripasso Classico Superiore.

The dry one Amarone della Valpolicella and the sweet Recioto della Valpolicella are made from raisin grapes. Both were classified as DOCG in 2010.
In the wine guide you will find
currently 137 004 Wines and 22 869 Producers, including 1 505 classified producers.
Rating system About Their sources in Wine Guide Wine Samples

Calendar EVENTS NEAR YOU To Online-Events

Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.